We encourage policymakers, program administrators, advocates, family members, and mental health service users to learn more about mental health self-direction and how it can work in their state.

Find out what people in your community need. Talk with self-direction program administrators in other states, as well as with regional and national offices of SAMHSA and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services regarding funding options.

And check out the research and resources available from these and other organizations conducting national research:



WEBSITE: www.hsri.org
EMAIL: bcroft@hsri.org

Applied Self Direction

WEBSITE: www.appliedselfdirection.com


Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

WEBSITE: www.samhsa.gov

National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD)

WEBSITE: www.nasmhpd.org


Sign up for research news and updates

Name *

University of Illinois-Chicago (UIC) Center on Integrated Health Care & Self-Directed Recovery  

WEBSITE: www.center4healthandsdc.org

Temple University Collaborative on Community Inclusion of Individuals with Psychiatric Disabilities

WEBSITE: www.tucollaborative.org




Teri Henderson, CPRP, SDC Program Coordinator, Aging True - Community Senior Services
EMAIL: thenderson@agingtrue.org
WEBSITE: www.agingtrue.org

David Sarchet, LMHC, Program Director, FloridaSDC Circuit 20 NAMI of Collier County
EMAIL: david@namicollier.org
WEBSITE: www.flsdc.org
WEBSITE: www.namicollier.org



Deborah Monroe, CPSS/RC Recovery Concepts
EMAIL: dmonroe@wowway.com

Pam Werner, Manager, Office of Recovery Oriented Systems of Care, Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities Administration, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
EMAIL: wernerp@michigan.gov


New York

Don Zalucki, Director, Bureau of Program and Policy Development, Office of Mental Health
EMAIL: Donald.Zalucki@omh.ny.gov
WEBSITE: www.omh.ny.gov



Joseph Rogers, Chief Advocacy Officer, Mental Health Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania
EMAIL: jrogers@mhasp.org
WEBSITE: www.mhasp.org



Dena Stoner, Senior Policy Advisor, Health and Human Services Commission, Medical and Social Services Division, Behavioral Health Services Section
EMAIL: dena.stoner@hhsc.state.tx.us



Pam Bennett, LCSW, Adult Mental Health Program Administrator, Department of Human Services/Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
EMAIL: pbennett1@utah.gov